The Beginning

launch 1-2

The very first post. I finally did it.  After years of encouragement from my friends and family, I have officially created heytaemama.com.  HeyTaeMama.com is a lifestyle blog where I will share all the random things I talk about on Instagram.  Thank you for being here!


Most of you probably landed here by way of my Instagram page @HeyTaeMama, which you can find here.  For those of you who are new- here’s the gist.  I’m a Midwestern girl, turned east-coast-living lifestyle and nurse blogger.  In my day job I am a registered nurse, certified lactation consultant, and breastfeeding advocate.  On my off days I love: taking pictures of things (places and scenery, no humans please), reading books on spirituality, chai tea lattes, green tea, trap music, spin class, Issa Rae’s Insecure, Game of Thrones, BRUNCH (brunch is Bae AF), long walks by myself, natural hair, WINE, CAKE, vanilla bean anything, and making reservations > making dinner.

wednesday

And if you still want more, I’ll let my Instagram captions do the talkin’:  I’m the kind of woman you’ll find with Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now in her bag, on the way to Trader Joes, playing Wayne’s Drought 3.  I love hanging with my friends + happy hour 🍸 + James Baldwin.  I’m a midwesterner (618 foreva *Cardi B voice*), a weird ass Aquarius married to another weird ass Aquarius, natural hair enthusiast, breastfeeding advocate, trap music feign, and I’m told the way I speak doesn’t match my face. I trip up the same set of stairs every day and I’m always running late, but I’ma talk to God about that. I’m so professional at work and outside of work I’m just a girl from Venice. I don’t believe in jealousy or colorism.  I like pulling out my camera and taking pictures of things. It reminds me of being a little girl in Venice. I’m a nurse because altruism is just a part of me, it’s who I am.  I encourage women to breastfeed, and created @BlackMomsBreastfeed,  because health disparities and decreased access to care are shaking this country at its core. I’m just out here tryna further my career, lose weight (these seven pounds are a real issue), and manifest my destiny. Nothing’s perfect, BUT GOD, always, and my favorite Bible verse is Habakkuk 2:3.

launch 2-2.jpg

laaunchh 3-2
Top: Urban Outfitters | Bottoms: H&M |Necklaces: Etsy | photog: Husband

So, where’d I get the name HeyTaeMama?  It’s actually a nickname I got as a kid.  Growing up, my mother and her friends called me “Tae-Mama.”  To this day, whenever they are proud of me, they shout “That’s my Tae-Mama!”  That’s it!  I’m just a young woman, from a small town, out here trying to stay present, align her breath, and seal her ends.  As I build the site, I would love to know what y’all want to hear more about so please hop over to the contact page and send me a message.  We’re just getting started so stick with me!

(Disclaimer:  Sorry Momma and Granny for the cussing, please don’t whoop me…but I got it from y’all!)

If you like any of the posts on the blog, scroll down to the bottom of the page, leave a comment, and hit the “like” button!  Check out the next post

Leave a comment